Men's Premier League


Current Head Coach - 


Our MPL Head Coach, Ryan Ayres, or Ayresie as he is well known, has an extensive playing and coaching history within the NTFL.

Having played for NT Representative sides throughout schooling, Ayresie made his MPL debut at the age of 15 with the Darwin Buffalos. He went on to play for the NT Representative team, playing against Norwood. Drafted to Melbourne in the 2001 Rookie Draft, Ayresie spent 12 months with Melbourne and Sandringham. He then played for West Adelaide for two years in the SANFL before returning to the NTFL with Darwin Buffalos for another season.

Ayresie then came to the WFC as an MPL Assistant Coach for nine seasons. He was then the Assistant MPL Coach for Southern Districts for three seasons, including two years with NT Thunder.

Ayresie returned to us at the WFC as the MPL Head Coach in the 2018-2019 season, where he is about to lead us into his fifth season.

Photo - AFL Northern Territory


2021-2022 Season

During the last season, we made the our first MPL grand final appearance in 15 years. Whilst we didnt walk away with the result we wanted, this has left us hungry for more. 

In the 2021-2022 season our Men's Premier League Coach, Ryan Ayres, was named the NTFL MPL Coach of the Year, and MPL Captain, Brodie Carroll, was named the ABC Player of the Year.

"We're on the upward path, we'll keep building, we'll come back stronger. We're not going anywhere. 

Our club is a place people want to be at. 

Flags, they'll come. They won't define us.

We'll be defined on how we bond together, how we build from this" - President, Rohan Langworthy. 









1920-21, 1928-29, 1929-30, 1930-31,

1932-33, 1937-38, 1940-41, 1946-47,

1947-48, 1952-53, 1953-54, 1973-74,

1976-77, 1998-99, 1999-00, 2022-23

Runners Up


1916-17, 1917-18, 1918-19, 1922-23,

1923-24, 1925-26, 1927-28, 1931-32,

1933-34, 1934-35, 1950-51, 1955-56,

1996-97, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2021-22

Minor Premiers


1946-47, 1952-53, 1998-99, 1999-00

*These results are from after 1946.


NTFL Nichols Medal Winners

Year Name
1929-1930 Jim Main
1939-1940 Pat Scully
1951-1952 Denis Ganley
1952-1953 Charles 'Bluey' McKee
1953-1954 Bill James
1960-1961 Jim Wilson
1962-1963 Bertram Kantilla
1971-1972 Keith Nickels (joint winner)
1979-1980 Hank McPhee
1981-1982 Peter Ivanoff
1986-1987 Perer Ivanoff
2016-2017 Timmy Mosquito